PHOTO FRIDAY / DIY MASQUERADE MASK

Todays post is going be both Photo Friday and a quick DIY. To get in the Halloween spirit this year, I didn’t carve any pumpkins but I’ve always wanted to make my own mask. It’s a masquerade mask that’s Halloween inspired.

There are a ton of different ways you can design your mask, I’m going to share a process that will hopefully inspire you to make one. There is no right or wrong answer to make a mask, you just need to be creative.

Materials:
Mask
Feathers
Paint / Spray & Acrylic
Glitter
Sequins / Jewels
Hot Glue & Glitter Glue

Start out doing some sketches, add marker to your sketches to get an idea of colors. I refined my sketch to get a better idea of what materials to use. It helped me understand what materials I wanted to use.

Start to mask out the design using tape. After the details are taped out, use spray paint to cover the areas with the most color. The other areas can be painted with a brush, using either acrylic paint or enamels.

I love sparkle so I used sprayed glitter over the whole mask. The last paint spray before applying the feathers, jewels and sequins.


Pick out the colors for feathers you want to use and get ready to hot glue them to the back of the mask. I used hot glue for the major gluing and glitter glue for the smaller details.

I started with gluing the feathers and then the sequins. I used glitter glue for all the sequins, it blended well with the paint on the mask. Keep doing that until you are happy with the end result. I became addicted to adding feathers. Just remember to do that if you want a full layout of feathers.

What do you think? I am so excited to use my mask this weekend. I almost forgot, there isn’t a tie strap to keep it on. I am using a stick to hold it up to my face. Also I plan to cover the back of the mask with some fabric.
I hope enjoyed todays DIY / Photo Friday post.
Happy Halloween!


Leave a Reply

