PHOTO FRIDAY / HISTORIC LAND MARK

For this post I decided to take a photo from my Detroit album. I have been working all week on the photo book along with some other projects. The book is coming a long nicely and I can’t wait to show you. Soon I promise.

This building is the Ford Piquette Plant; it’s on the National Register of Historic Places because it’s where the first Model T was built in 1908. This building is located in Detroit and not far from CCS. During my college days at CCS, I got to tour the plant. It was very cool to see the space where Henry Ford invented his dreams of the automobile. I remember in the back corner of on the third floor of the building, was his room where he developed the Model T. There is also some Model Ts on display, showing the stages of assembly.

I love how this building was preserved. Also a little fact about the building, it’s all-original, barely unchanged, except for a little added graffiti on the outside.

Leave a Reply

